17, May, 21

What Is Standard In Magic: The Gathering?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
What is Standard in Magic: The Gathering? Well, let's help you out and explain everything you need.
at a

What is Standard in Magic: The Gathering? The chances are that if you’re asking this, then you’re fairly new to the game. So, for starters, welcome on in to this incredible game. You’ve got a lot of exciting games ahead of you and lots of formats to learn about, but take things at your own pace.

Now then, Standard is a lot of people’s first entry into constructed formats, so while a lot of our other pieces list the expectations for deck construction pretty simply, we’ll explain things a bit more here.

Read More: The MTG Arena Qualifier Weekend Did Not Go Well

What is Standard in Magic: The Gathering?


Standard is a constructed format. That means that your deck has specific rules to follow. Your deck must contain at least sixty cards, and aside from Basic Lands and any cards that state so in their rules text, you can only have up to four of any single card in your deck and sideboard. Your sideboard can be up to fifteen cards, and you use it to swap out parts of your deck that might not be good about specific matchups.

Standard is the smallest construct format, and what that means is that it has the least cards and sets within it. This is because sets rotate out regularly, which helps to keep the format fresh and exciting, but can also put some people off who want to use their pet cards.

As it stands, Standard contains Throne of Eldraine, Theros Beyond Death, Ikoria Lair of Behemoths, Core Set 2021, Zendikar Rising, Kaldheim, and Strixhaven. That means you can use any cards from these sets, and also any cards printed in these sets that you own from a previous printing.

Read More: Target Stores to Halt Sales of Trading Cards Including Pokémon, Magic: The Gathering & Sports Cards This Month

What cards are banned in Standard?


As Standard has a smaller pool of cards to choose from, it also (usually) has fewer banned cards too. These are the cards that are currently banned in Standard:

  • Cauldron Familiar
  • Escape to the Wilds
  • Fires of Invention
  • Lucky Clover
  • Oko, Thief of Crowns
  • Omnath, Locus of Creation
  • Once Upon a Time
  • Uro, Titan of Nature’s Wrath

Other than Cauldron Familiar, which we’re still missing a lot, these are all pretty important bannings, and the format is definitely better because of them.

Read More: How To Build A Commander Deck For Under Thirty Dollars

*MTG Rocks may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.