kaldchampe
15, Mar, 21

Where to Watch Kaldheim Championship & Everything Else You Need to Know

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share
Article at a Glance

Kaldheim Championship, the upcoming high-level Magic: The Gathering tournament, is coming this month, and fans will be able to watch it live. Wizards of the Coast has recently shared the details of Kaldheim Championship, so if you’re excited to watch the best MTG players compete for the $250,000, here’s everything you need to know.

When can I watch the Kaldheim Championship?

champy5
Wizards of the Coast

Twitch.tv/magic will broadcast the Kaldheim Championship live on March 26-28 on Twitch.tv/magic beginning 9 a.m. PT each day.

What’s the broadcast schedule of the Kaldheim Championship?

aris1
Wizards of the Coast

Friday, March 26: 9 a.m. PDT / 5 p.m. CET / 1 a.m. JST (March 27)

  • Broadcast ends after Round 7.

Saturday, March 27: 9 a.m. PDT / 5 p.m. CET / 1 a.m. JST (March 28)

  • Broadcast ends after Round 15 and the Top 8 is announced.

Sunday, March 28: 9 a.m. PDT / 6 p.m. CEST / 1 a.m. JST (March 29)

  • Broadcast ends after the Kaldheim Championship Top 8 playoff is complete.

Who is competing in the Kaldheim Championship?

kaldy20
Wizards of the Coast

Over 210 MTG players, from the MPL and Rivals league to top qualifying players through Qualifier Weekends, Magic Online Qualifiers, and beyond, and competing in the Kaldheim Championship, including MTGRocks.com writer, Nicholas Price.

What are the formats of the Kaldheim Championship?

kalder
Wizards of the Coast

Kaldheim Championship will feature both Standard and Historic Constructed formats, covering seven Swiss rounds of Historic and eight rounds of Standards across two days. Players who earn their 12th match will will automatically advance to the Top 8 playoff. Final standings at the Final standings at the end of Round 15 will determine any remaining Top 8 slots available after all players with 12 wins have advanced.

Day 3’s Top 8 elimination is double elimination, and it will only feature Standard Constructed. Here are the details WOTC shared about how the 3-day tournament will take place:

Day One: Historic and Standard Constructed

  • 7 Swiss rounds, with records and match points carrying over to Day Two.
    • Rounds 1-3: Standard Constructed
    • Rounds 4-7: Historic Constructed
  • All matches are a best two-out-of-three games.
  • 30-minute timer for each player, each match.
  • Players must earn four or more match wins to advance to play on Day Two.

Day Two: Historic and Standard Constructed

  • 8 Swiss rounds, ending to a Top 8 cut.
    • Rounds 8-11: Standard Constructed
    • Rounds 12-15: Historic Constructed
  • All matches are a best two-out-of-three games.
  • 30-minute timer for each player, each match.
  • Players who earn their 12th match win are advanced to Top 8 and do not compete in additional Swiss rounds.

Day Three: Top 8 Double-Elimination Playoff

Wizards of the Coast

he Top 8 plays out through a double-elimination bracket to determine the winner of the Kaldheim Championship.

  • Top 8 is seeded into the bracket based on the order their 12th match win is earned, and final standings after 15 rounds.
  • All matches are a best two-out-of-three games, except the match which determines the winner of the Championship which will be a best two-out-of-three matches.
  • The player with the higher seed, except in the championship match, chooses the play/draw order for players at the beginning of each match.
  • The player in the Upper bracket will choose to play or draw in the first game of each match in the championship match.

Wizards went on to note that intentional draws and concessions are not permitted in the Kaldheim Championship. In the Zendikar Rising Championship last year, WOTC also enforced this rule.

Who’s broadcasting the Kaldheim Championship stream?

Wizards of the Coast

How much money is on the line & what else do players get?

In addition to the $250,000 prize pool, participants will also receive package of Kaldheim Championship gear provided by Magic Esports, including exclusive playmat featuring the Kaldheim art of Tibalt’s Trickery illustrated by Anna Podedworna.

Wizards of the Coast
Wizards of the Coast
  • Kaldheim Championship backpack patch
  • Tibalt’s Trickery playmat
  • Kaldheim Championship branded dice tin with d6 and assorted sleeves
  • Kaldheim toque
  • Kaldheim Draft Boosters

Players who weren’t participants in a previous¬†Magic¬†Esports championship will also receive a Magic: The Gathering branded backpack.

For metagame, decklists, player details match-by-match updates, and more, check out the Kaldheim Championship event page and the Magic Esports Twitter account.

Related: Strixhaven Spoilers Will Apparently Be Starting Very Soon

*MTG Rocks is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more
BROWSE