Strixhaven Quandrix
19, Feb, 21

Magic: The Gathering Update Changes Converted Mana Cost to Mana Value with Strixhaven: School of Mages

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Article at a Glance

The release of Strixhaven: School of Mages will come with a small Magic: The Gathering update

During today’s DailyMTG stream on, Wizards of the Coast has announced that the release of the upcoming magical school-themed Magic: The Gathering set, Strixhaven: School of Mages, will come with a small update about a widely-used MTG term.

With the release of Strixhaven, “Converted Mana Cost”, the number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color, will now be called “Mana Value”.

As you can see in one of the 5 new Command spells from Strixhaven revealed today, the term “mana value” is used instead of “converted mana cost”.

Wizards of the Coast

This is a small update that should help newer players understand the rules around mana value more. “Converted mana cost” is not that confusing, but “mana value” will probably make it easier to understand.

What do you think about this small change in Strixhaven?
Let us know what you think in the comments section below.

Wizards of the Coast Twitter

To check out the spoilers for Strixhaven: School of Magesclick here.

Strixhaven: School of Mages is scheduled to release for tabletop on April 23. You can find out more details about Strixhaven here.

*MTG Rocks is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more