21, Feb, 22

This Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty Artifact Is A Must-Have

There are cards you only need one of, but you do absolutely need. This is one of those cards.
Article at a Glance

There are plenty of great cards in Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty that you’ll likely be picking up, but if you’re a Commander player, there’s one card in particular that you’re going to absolutely need in your collection. It’s not the kind of card that will go in every deck, but it is the kind of card you’ll likely end up wanting at some point.

The biggest issue with Commander, at least when copying things, is that a lot of the best cards tend to be legendary. It’s a problem because it means you can’t just copy whatever you want, not unless you have certain cards, and they tend to get pricey very quickly. So your best bet, is to get in on this new artifact instead.

Mirror, mirror on the wall

“The “legend rule” doesn’t apply to permanents you control. Each legendary creature you control gets +1/+1. Each nontoken creature you control gets +1/+1 for each other creature you control with the same name as that creature.”

That’s the text on the mighty Mirror Box, a three-mana artifact. It being an artifact is huge, because it means it’s easy to slot into any deck you might think needs it. Plus, the text on it is good even if you’re not copying anything as long as you’re playing a deck with a heavy focus on legendary creatures.It also states that it’s not just legendary creatures, but permanents.

This means that you can get to copying your favorite legendary artifacts, enchantments, and even planeswalkers too. There’s a lot of hidden value here that’ll be sure to pay off, and for three-mana, it really is a powerhouse. So, don’t wait around for too long to pick this one up, because it’s very likely that it’ll be a Commander staple that skyrockets in price.

Read More: Is Ascend Good In Commander?

*MTG Rocks is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more