scg tour banner
20, Jul, 21

StarCityGames Announces Return Of Major Competitive Play Events!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share
Article
at a
Glance

Yesterday afternoon, the SCG Tour Twitter account tweeted out a short, but hype inducing message. Immediately, talk started to spread in the Twitterverse about the return of the SCG Tour Online. Well we now have that announcement so we’ll go through that today!

What is the SCG Tour Online?

That’s Right! So the SCG Tour Online is back! This weekend event series is a 3 day event with 4 mini swiss tournaments in the first 2 days, and a Championship Qualifier event on the 3rd day. During the first 2 days, you earn points in the events and depending on how many points you accumulate over the first 2 days of events will determine if you can enter into the Championship Qualifier on Sunday. In addition to the Championship Qualifier event, you can earn byes for that event as well as an invitation to play in the SCG Invitational, which is an in person event that we’ll talk about later.

For the Championship Qualifier event, this event is a big $5000 tournament, where prizes for this event include cash prizes, an invitation to compete in the Magic Arena Championships for 1st place, invitations to compete in MTG Arena Qualifier Weekend for 2nd – 12th, and invites to play in the SCG Invitational.

StarCityGames

When are the events and how much does it cost to enter?

There are a few scheduled dates for the satellite events, with the first set of them coming up this weekend! Starting on Friday June 23rd, there will be 4 satellite events at the times below

  • Satellite #1 – 6:00 AM ET (3:00 AM PT)
  • Satellite #2 – 1:00 PM ET (10:00 AM PT)
  • Satellite #3 – 7:00 PM ET (4:00 PM PT)
  • Satellite #4 – 10:00 PM ET (7:00 PM PT)

Then on Saturday June 24th, another 4 satellite events will be held, below

  • Satellite #5 – 5:00 AM ET (2:00 AM PT)
  • Satellite #6 – 10:00 AM ET (7:00 AM PT)
  • Satellite #7 – 4:00 PM ET (1:00 PM PT)
  • Satellite #8 – 8:00 PM ET (5:00 PM PT)

This all will culminate to the Championship Qualifier event on Sunday June 25th, which will start at 10 AM EST (7 AM PST). The format for these first events will be Standard. There are dates also announced for future SCG Online Tour Weekends, listed below:

  • July 30th – August 1st
  • August 6th-8th
  • August 27th-29th
  • September 10th-12th
  • October 1st-3rd
  • October 8th-10th
  • October 15th-17th

The formats for these will be either Standard or Historic, and will be confirmed the Monday before the event. The entry cost for the Satellite events is only $8! That’s a really affordable price for a chance to compete in a really big and competitive tournament!

SCG Con / SCG Invitational

StarCityGames

Now I mentioned earlier that depending on how good you did in the Satellite events and Championship Qualifier events, you had a chance to play in the SCG Invitational. Well the Part 2 of StarCity’s announcement was the return of SCG Con, which will host the Invitational. SCG Con is an in person convention held in Roanoke, VA, where there will be a bunch of events, as well as the invitational. This event is being held on Halloween Weekend this year, October 29th – 31st. Information about this specific event hasn’t been announced yet, but it should be coming soon.

This is all very exciting news! These events are great things to have in this lull of competitive and organized play, especially with such a big name behind it. You can learn more about SCG Tour Online here, and register for this weekends events here. What are your thoughts on these events coming back? Are you going to try and compete in these satellite events? Let us know in the comments!

*MTG Rocks may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.
BROWSE

Latest
Stories

BROWSE

Latest
Stories