22, Mar, 21

More Strixhaven: School of Mages Details Revealed: 5 Elder Dragons & Plane Name

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Article at a Glance

The preview season for Strixhaven: School of Mages is coming soon. Magic: The Gathering fans already know about the 5 magical colleges of the Strixhaven and card details teased by MTG head designer Mark Rosewater, but fans still have a lot of questions about the upcoming set.

5 Elder Dragons from Strixhaven confirmed!


Recently, Wizkid product details revealed that Galazeth Prismari is the Elder Dragon who founded the blue/red school of Strixhaven, Prismari. Over on his Blogatog, Rosewater also confirmed that there are four other Elder Dragons who founded the other schools, Silverquill, Witherbloom, Lorehold, and Quandrix. He also confirmed that all five schools are named after them, and that they are not the same Elder Dragons from the plane of Dominaria.

It’s likely that Strixhaven will feature cards of these Elder Dragons, and they will most likely be two-colored mythic rare cards.

Where is Strixhaven located?

Wizards of the Coast

Magic sets are usually named after the plane where their lore takes place, but “Strixhaven” is the name of the most elite university of the Multiverse, not the name of the plane where that university is located. Wizards of the Coast recently revealed that Strixhaven will center in the plane of Arvacios.


Strixhaven: School of Mages Color Pairs Built Around Conflict, Says MTG Head Designer

More details for Strixhaven: School of Mages are expected to be revealed when previews begin on March 25, 2021 at 9 AM PT, and tune in to or the official MTG YouTube channel.

Strixhaven is set to release for tabletop on April 23, and it will be released on Magic: The Gathering Arena and Magic Online a few days earlier.

*MTG Rocks is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more